General Mills recalls Cheerios products manufactured on 17 different days

Stock image | St. George News

MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. – General Mills Inc. announced Monday that Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios cereal products that were produced at the company’s Lodi, California, facility on certain dates in July are being recalled due to an undeclared allergen that has potential adverse health effects.

Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios produced over several days at the Lodi facility are being recalled due to an isolated incident that resulted in wheat flour being mistakenly introduced into the gluten-free oat flour system, according to a press release from General Mills. As a result, Cheerios products labeled “gluten-free” may contain the undeclared allergen wheat.

Affected cereals produced on the specified dates (see table below) will be recalled and retrieved from customer warehouses and store shelves by General Mills. Consumers who have wheat allergies, celiac disease or gluten intolerance should not consume products marked with the affected code dates, the press release said. Customers should contact General Mills to receive a replacement product or full refund.

The voluntary recall includes original Cheerios in the iconic yellow box that was produced over four days and Honey Nut Cheerios manufactured over 13 days at the Lodi facility. Affected products bear the following “Better if Used By” code dates and the plant code “LD,” which indicates the products came from the Lodi facility.

Honey Nut Cheerios Yellow Box Cheerios
12JUL2016LD 17JUL2016LD 23JUL2016LD 14JUL2016LD
13JUL2016LD 18JUL2016LD 24JUL2016LD 15JUL2016LD
14JUL2016LD 20JUL2016LD 25JUL2016LD 16JUL2016LD
15JUL2016LD 21JUL2016LD   17JUL2016LD
16JUL2016LD 22JUL2016LD    

Illness or severe reactions can result when individuals with wheat allergies or celiac disease consume products containing wheat, according to the release. Illness or discomfort can also result for individuals who have gluten intolerance.

Five varieties of General Mills’ Cheerios are being transitioned to gluten-free, according to the press release. The recall does not apply to Cheerios and Honey Nut cheerios products produced at other General Mills facilities, nor does it apply to cereal products from the Lodi facility bearing dates other than those specified. The recall does not include other gluten-free Cheerios varieties, including Apple Cinnamon Cheerios, Frosted Cheerios and Multigrain Cheerios, nor are any other General Mills cereals affected by the recall.

Consumers wishing to request refunds or seeking further information should call General Mills Consumer Services at 800-775-8370.

Related posts

Email: [email protected]

Twitter: @STGnews

Copyright St. George News, LLC, 2015, all rights reserved.



Free News Delivery by Email

Would you like to have the day's news stories delivered right to your inbox every evening? Enter your email below to start!


  • fun bag October 7, 2015 at 12:01 am

    this gluten-free fad will blow over with time. did everyone lose interest in acai berries already? i just can’t keep up with fads, i’m too old

  • Common Sense October 7, 2015 at 6:43 am

    Uhh…gluten and wheat sensitivities are a real thing as is Celiacs. I would be more concerned about consuming this product because of how highly processed it is even though they lead you to believe it is wholesome product.

  • Billy Madison October 7, 2015 at 8:26 am

    The recalled product is perfectly safe for those without gluten allergies so why not offer those boxes of cereal at a reduced price or donate to food banks instead of just sending them to the landfill. Such a waste of good food when so many are hungry.

    • NotSoFast October 7, 2015 at 11:05 am

      Why not send those boxes to say, Mexico? Or California? They could grind the oats/ flour mixture up and make taco shells or feed it to the live stock. But wait! can cattle eat wheat instead of alfalfa? Better check with the FDA.

  • Billy Madison October 7, 2015 at 4:12 pm

    Give me a spoon and a gallon of milk, I’ll take a good share of these Cheerios out of circulation.

  • .... October 7, 2015 at 11:31 pm

    Oh heck just send them back. and then they can color them and send them back out as fruit loops. it’s all junk food anyway

  • 42214 October 8, 2015 at 8:27 pm

    I tried to buy my favorite cereal but it’s not allowed in St George, Fruit Loops.

    • .... October 9, 2015 at 2:04 am

      Yeah can’t have dancing fruit loops in St George.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.